Start page


Qingdao | Qingdao - Shandong Facts |

Shandong Facts

Formal name: Shandong Province (Shantung)
Shandong: shan: mountains, dong: east
Province capital: Jinan
Largest city: Qingdao
Governor: Jiang Daming
CPC Committee Secretary: Jiang Yikang
Population: 91,800,000, the second most populous province of China
Density: 586/sq km
Population history of Shandong:
1898: 36,247, 835
1936: 38,029,294
1953: 48,876,548
1982: 74,419,000
1990: 83,430,000
Ethnic groups: Han 92%, Hui, Manchus
Area: 156.700 sq km

Border provinces: Hebei to the northwest, Henan to the west, Anhui southwest and Jiangsu to the south.
Sea borders: Yellow Sea, Bohai Sea
Climate: Temperate climate; moist summers and dry, cold winters. Average temperatures are -5 - 1 °C in January and 24 - 28 °C in July.
Terrain: Mostly flat, central Shandong is more mountainous
Highest peak: Jade Emperor Peak, with a height of 1545 m.
Administrative divisions: Shandong is divided into 17 prefecture-level divisions, all of them prefecture-level cities: Binzhou, Dezhou, Dongying, Heze, Jinan, Jining, Laiwu, Liaocheng, Linyi, Qingdao, Rizhao, TaiŽan, Weifang, Weihai, Yantai, Zaozhuang, Zibo